Scholarships provided by the E.W. Stevens Trust help students from regional South Australia who are in difficult financial circumstances continue their studies.

The fund was established in 1988 following a bequest to the-then United Farmers and Stock Owners of SA Inc, from the estate of the late Mr Earnest William Stevens. 

Management of the fund was later transferred to the South Australian Farmers’ Federation. Following the dissolution of SAFF, Primary Producers SA is proud to now be the custodian of the Trust.

Eligibility criteria

Requirements to be eligible for the scholarship are:

    1. Citizenship: Applicants must be either an Australian citizen or Australian permanent resident.
    2. Financial hardship: Students who are in, or whose parents or guardians are, either in receipt of or eligible for a means-tested Centrelink benefit; whose family is in receipt of Family Tax Benefit A; a recipient of the Farm Household Allowance; an accepted case managed client of Rural Business Support or they are able to demonstrate unusual or exceptional circumstances that were unforeseen, occurred recently, and impacted negatively on their or their family’s financial circumstances.
    3. Age: The scholarships are available to secondary students in Years 10, 11, or 12, or tertiary (University/VET) students who are dependents aged between 16 to 25 years.
    4. Location: When not studying, applicants’ place of residence must be rural, regional or remote South Australia.
    5. Approved study: Students must be enrolled in fulltime study at a secondary school or tertiary institution (University/TAFE/RTO).


Students may apply to access up to $5000 in scholarship funds per year.

Applications closed on January 12, 2023.

Applicants will be advised of their success (or otherwise) in early February 2023.


Ground Floor, 62 The Parade, Norwood SA

PO Box 259, Kent Town DC, SA 5071


Telephone: 08 8297 0899

Email: admin@ppsa.org.au